Image

Dent County, MO

Verified Content

Last Updated:

DWI Attorney in Dent County, MO. A dreaded Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) charge in Dent County, MO can have serious and long-lasting, if not permanent, implications on your life, including your freedom, finances, and your future housing, career, and personal opportunities. If you have been arrested for DWI in Dent County, MO or anywhere else in Missouri, you need the expertise of a talented Combs Waterkotte DWI attorney by your side.

Our experienced criminal defense attorneys in Dent County, MO are dedicated to offering you the strongest possible defense, safeguarding your rights every step of the way. Depending on the specific circumstances of your case, a talented Combs Waterkotte DWI attorney may be able to reduce or dismiss your charges in Dent County, MO, arrange a lesser punishment through a plea bargain, or fight your conviction in a trial.

Call Combs Waterkotte right now at (314) 900-HELP or reach out to us online to schedule a free, no-obligation consultation with one of our Dent County, MO DWI attorneys where you can discuss the specifics of your case and get confidential legal advice.

DWI Attorney in Dent County, MO: Safeguard Your Future With the Combs Waterkotte Lawyers

Regardless of the situation, you need the best legal representation available in Dent County, MO. Whether you’re facing your first DWI charge or your third, have been arrested for driving under the influence of marijuana or another intoxicating substance, or have been involved in an accident while driving impaired, you need the help of Combs Waterkotte immediately.

Hiring a determined Dent County, MO DWI attorney can be the difference between feeling compelled to plead guilty and potentially having your charges reduced or even dismissed. Contact a Dent County, MO DWI attorney without delay at (314) 900-HELP or connect with us online.

DWI Attorney Dent County, MO | Criminal Defense in Dent County, MO | Dent County, MO DWI Lawyers

DWI Attorney in Dent County, MO: Understanding DWI Penalties in Missouri

Dent County, MO DWI charges can carry serious penalties, such as fines, license suspension, and potential jail time. You may be required, depending on the specifics of your Dent County, MO case, to enroll in and complete a Substance Awareness Traffic Offender Program (SATOP) program, as well as being responsible for filing SR-22 insurance.

The penalties for DWI in Dent County, MO amount to:

  • First Offense: Penalties may include up to 6 months in jail, fines of up to $500, and a 30-day license suspension followed by a 60-day restricted driving period.
  • Second Offense: Considered a “prior offender” so you face up to 1 year in jail, fines up to $1,000, and a license suspension ranging from 1 to 5 years.
  • Third Offense: Classified as a “persistent offender” and a Class E felony offense, so you could face up to 4 years in prison, fines up to $5,000, and a 10-year license revocation.
  • Fourth Offense: Along with a Class D felony offense, you may receive a prison sentence up to 7 years, fines up to $5,000, and license suspension.
  • Fifth Offense: This is a Class C felony, and you can expect a prison sentence of up to 15 years, as well as the suspension of your license.

DWI Attorney in Dent County, MO: Steps to Take If Pulled Over in Dent County, MO

Being stopped by law enforcement in Dent County, MO can be an intimidating experience, particularly if you have been partaking in alcoholic drinks. If you find yourself stopped for a DWI, it is crucial to handle the situation carefully. The following are steps recommended by the Combs Waterkotte DWI attorneys:

  • Stay Calm and Compliant: Safely pull over to the side of the road, using your signal to indicate your intentions, and find a safe, well-lit location. Maintain your composure, taking deep breaths in order to stay calm throughout the interaction with the officer.
  • Keep Your Hands Visible and Be Polite: Keep your hands on the steering wheel as the officer approaches your vehicle to demonstrate you are not a threat and are cooperative. Politely greet the officer and follow their instructions – this goes a long way.
  • Limit Your Conversation: Avoid self-incrimination. After all, you have the right to remain silent. Once law enforcement has you pulled over, officers may use various investigative techniques to gather evidence against you. You don’t have to answer questions about where you’ve been in the Dent County, MO area, what you have been doing, or whatever it is you’ve been drinking. You can always politely decline to answer by saying, “I prefer not to answer that question,” or “I’d rather not answer without legal advice.”
  • Refuse Sobriety Tests: You are not legally required to perform field sobriety tests (FSTs) in Dent County, MO, or anywhere else. These tests are subjective and often only used to establish probable cause for your arrest. An officer may ask you to take a portable breath test, or breathalyzer. While the state of Missouri has an implied consent law that suspends your license for 1 year if you refuse a breathalyzer – called chemical revocation – this is only applicable after a DWI arrest, not before. These portable tests are unreliable and, like FSTs, are only used to establish probable cause. Don’t give it to them.
  • Contact a DWI Attorney Immediately: Seek an attorney who specializes in DWI cases, such as the skilled DWI attorneys at Combs Waterkotte. Our experienced lawyers can guide you through the legal process and protect your rights and future. Call us now at (314) 900-HELP or contact us online.

DWI Attorney Dent County, MO | Leading Criminal Defense DWI Law Firm Dent County, MO | Combs Waterkotte

DWI Attorney in Dent County, MO: How the Esteemed Defense Strategists at Combs Waterkotte Can Help

While facing a DWI charge in Dent County, MO is certainly daunting, with the right legal representation you can be in a far better situation than going it alone. Combs Waterkotte is committed to offering exceptional DWI defense services, making sure you receive a fair trial in Dent County, MO and the best possible outcome. Our firm offers:

Extensive Experience & Expertise From Our Dent County, MO DWI Attorney

With over 60 years of combined experience in criminal defense, the DWI attorney team at Combs Waterkotte has a deep understanding of the DWI laws in Dent County, MO and throughout Missouri. We have the capability to handle the intricacies of DWI charges just like yours, and have successfully defended numerous clients in the Dent County, MO area against these accusations. We are committed to complete client satisfaction, and our record of success speaks for itself.

An Initial Consultation and Case Evaluation With a Skilled DWI Attorney in Dent County, MO

We begin with a thorough, no-strings-attached, free case review to understand the specifics of your Dent County, MO case. This allows our talented team in Dent County, MO to evaluate the evidence against you, identify any weaknesses in the prosecution’s case, and explore potential defense strategies tailored to your circumstances.

A Dent County, MO DWI Attorney Who Challenges the Evidence

Each Dent County, MO DWI case is unique and a one-size-fits-all approach simply won’t suffice. The Combs Waterkotte DWI attorneys develop a personalized defense strategy based on your individual circumstances in Dent County, MO. Our attorneys meticulously investigate every aspect of your case, from the initial traffic stop to the arrest, closely examining the validity of the stop and the procedures followed by law enforcement.

A Dent County, MO DWI Attorney Who is Skilled in Negotiating Plea Bargains

If we decide your case is unlikely to be dismissed, we negotiate plea bargains to reduce charges and penalties. There may also be mitigating circumstances that could be used to your advantage. Our goal is to achieve the most favorable outcome for our clients in the Dent County, MO area.

Expert Court Representation From a Dent County, MO DWI Attorney With Decades of Litigation Experience

Should your Dent County, MO DWI case proceed to trail, our attorneys provide robust representation in court, presenting a compelling defense strategy on your behalf. We present supporting evidence and testimony, challenge the prosecution’s evidence, and cross-examine witnesses. Our primary objective is to establish reasonable doubt in the prosecution’s case, securing a verdict of not guilty and/or minimizing the possibility of penalties imposed in Dent County, MO.

When you are facing a DWI charge in or around Dent County, MO and choose Combs Waterkotte, you’re not just hiring the best DWI attorney in Dent County, MO and throughout Missouri – you’re protecting your rights, your freedom, and your future. Along with DWI defense from our esteemed DWI attorney, our legal team provides expertise in the following areas for residents in Dent County and beyond:

DWI Attorney Dent County, MO | DWI Criminal Defense in Dent County, MO | Combs Waterkotte

Contact the Ideal Dent County, MO DWI Attorney Right Away | Combs Waterkotte

Facing a DWI charge in the Dent County, MO area? Do not leave your future to chance. Leave it to the skilled and tenacious DWI attorneys at Combs Waterkotte. Our lawyers are ready to fight for you and your rights, and provide the aggressive defense you need in Dent County, MO.

Take the crucial first step toward protecting your freedom, your finances, and your future in the Dent County, MO area by calling a DWI attorney at Combs Waterkotte as soon as possible at (314) 900-HELP or contact us online for a free and confidential consultation.

View Service Areas