Image

Cape Girardeau County, MO

Verified Content

Last Updated:

DWI Attorney in Cape Girardeau County, MO. A dreaded Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) charge in Cape Girardeau County, MO can have severe and enduring, if not permanent, implications on your life, affecting your freedom, finances, and your future housing, career, and personal prospects. If you are facing these charges in Cape Girardeau County, MO or anywhere else in Missouri, you deserve the expertise of a talented Combs Waterkotte DWI attorney fighting for you.

Our knowledgeable Cape Girardeau County, MO criminal defense attorneys are dedicated to providing you with the strongest possible defense, making sure your rights are protected every step of the way. Depending on the specifics of your case, a skilled DWI attorney at Combs Waterkotte may be able to reduce or dismiss your charges in Cape Girardeau County, MO, negotiate a lesser punishment via a plea bargain, or contest your conviction in a trial.

Give Combs Waterkotte a call immediately at (314) 900-HELP or contact us online to schedule a free, no-obligation consultation with one of our DWI attorneys in Cape Girardeau County, MO where you can have a discussion about the specifics of your case and receive confidential legal advice and guidance.

DWI Attorney in Cape Girardeau County, MO: Protect Your Future With the Combs Waterkotte Legal Team

No matter the situation, securing top-tier legal representation in Cape Girardeau County, MO is crucial. Whether you’ve been charged with your first DWI or your third, have been arrested for driving while intoxicated under the influence of marijuana or some other intoxicating substance, or have been involved in an accident while driving impaired, you need the help of Combs Waterkotte right now.

Hiring a tenacious Cape Girardeau County, MO DWI attorney can be the difference between possibly feeling like you have to plead guilty and potentially having your charges reduced or dismissed. Contact a Cape Girardeau County, MO DWI attorney without delay at (314) 900-HELP or contact us online.

DWI Attorney Cape Girardeau County, MO | Criminal Defense in Cape Girardeau County, MO | Cape Girardeau County, MO DWI Lawyers

DWI Attorney in Cape Girardeau County, MO: Understanding DWI Penalties in Missouri

Cape Girardeau County, MO DWI charges can carry serious penalties, including fines, license suspension, and potential jail time. Depending on your situation in Cape Girardeau County, MO, you may be required to complete a Substance Awareness Traffic Offender Program (SATOP) program, as well as being responsible for filing SR-22 insurance.

Penalties for DWI in Cape Girardeau County, MO include:

  • First Offense: Penalties may include up to 6 months in jail, fines up to $500, and a 30-day license suspension followed by a 60-day restricted driving period.
  • Second Offense: Classified as a “prior offender,” penalties include up to 1 year in jail, fines up to $1,000, and a license suspension ranging from 1 to 5 years.
  • Third Offense: Now considered a “persistent offender” and a Class E felony offense, so you could face up to 4 years in prison, fines up to $5,000, and a 10-year license revocation.
  • Fourth Offense: Along with a Class D felony offense, you may receive a prison sentence up to 7 years, fines up to $5,000, and license suspension.
  • Fifth Offense: This is a Class C felony, and you can expect a prison sentence of up to 15 years, as well as the suspension of your license.

DWI Attorney in Cape Girardeau County, MO: What You Should Do If Pulled Over in Cape Girardeau County, MO

Being stopped by law enforcement at any time in Cape Girardeau County, MO can be a frightening experience, but particularly so if you’ve been partaking in alcoholic drinks. If you find yourself stopped for a DWI, it is essential to handle the situation carefully. The following are steps recommended by the Combs Waterkotte DWI attorneys:

  • Stay Calm and Compliant: Pull over safely to the side of the road, signaling as you do so, finding a safe, well-lit area. Maintain your composure by taking deep breaths to remain calm throughout the interaction with the police officer.
  • Keep Your Hands Visible and Be Polite: Place your hands on the steering wheel as the officer approaches, showing you are not a threat and cooperative. Politely greet the officer and follow their instructions, as this can positively influence the encounter.
  • Limit Your Conversation: Avoid self-incrimination. After all, you have the right to remain silent. Once law enforcement pulls you over, officers will do everything in their power to arrest you or use “strongarm” investigative techniques. You are not obligated to answer questions about your whereabouts near Cape Girardeau County, MO, activities, or alcohol consumption. You can always politely decline questions by saying, “I prefer not to answer that question,” or “I would rather not answer without legal advice.”
  • Refuse Sobriety Tests: You are not legally required to perform field sobriety tests (FSTs) in Cape Girardeau County, MO, or anywhere else. These tests are subjective and often only used to establish probable cause for your arrest. An officer might request that you take a portable breath test, or breathalyzer. While Missouri’s implied consent law mandates a one-year license suspension for refusing a breathalyzer after a DWI arrest, this not apply to tests conducted before an arrest. These portable tests are unreliable and, like FSTs, are used primarily to establish probable cause. Don’t give it to them.
  • Call a DWI Attorney Immediately: It is critical to seek the advice of an attorney who specializes in DWI cases, such as the skilled DWI attorneys at Combs Waterkotte. Our knowledgeable lawyers can guide you through the legal process and safeguard your rights and future. Give us a call now at (314) 900-HELP or contact us online.

DWI Attorney Cape Girardeau County, MO | Leading Criminal Defense DWI Law Firm Cape Girardeau County, MO | Combs Waterkotte

DWI Attorney in Cape Girardeau County, MO: How Combs Waterkotte Can Help With Your Defense

While facing a DWI charge in Cape Girardeau County, MO is certainly daunting, with the ideal legal representation you can be in a far better situation than going solo. Combs Waterkotte is committed to offering exceptional DWI defense services, ensuring you receive a fair trial and the best possible outcome in Cape Girardeau County, MO. We provide:

A Cape Girardeau County, MO DWI Attorney With Extensive Experience & Expertise

With more than 60 years of combined experience in criminal defense, the DWI attorney team at Combs Waterkotte has a deep understanding of the DWI laws in Cape Girardeau County, MO and throughout Missouri. We are adept at managing the complexities of DWI charges just like yours, and have had numerous successful results defending Cape Girardeau County, MO clients against these types of charges. We are committed to complete client satisfaction, and our record of success speaks for itself.

An Initial Consultation and Case Evaluation With a Talented Cape Girardeau County, MO DWI Attorney

We begin with a detailed, confidential, free case review to understand the details of your Cape Girardeau County, MO case. This allows our skilled team in Cape Girardeau County, MO to assess the evidence against you, identify any weaknesses in the prosecution’s case, and explore possible defense strategies tailored to your circumstances.

Personalized Defense Strategies From a Cape Girardeau County, MO DWI Attorney

Each Cape Girardeau County, MO DWI case is unique and a generic approach simply won’t suffice. The Combs Waterkotte DWI attorneys build a personalized defense strategy based on your specific circumstances in Cape Girardeau County, MO. Our attorneys investigate every aspect of your case, from the initial traffic stop to the actual arrest. We scrutinize the legality of the stop and the procedures followed by law enforcement.

Skilled Plea Bargain Negotiations From Our Cape Girardeau County, MO DWI Attorney

If dismissal of your case is unlikely, we work to negotiate plea bargains that can your charges and penalties. There might be mitigating circumstances that could be used to your advantage. We always aim for the most favorable outcome for our clients in the Cape Girardeau County, MO area.

Expert Court Representation From a Cape Girardeau County, MO DWI Attorney With Decades of Litigation Experience

Should your Cape Girardeau County, MO DWI case go to trail, our attorneys provide robust representation in court, presenting a compelling defense strategy on your behalf. We cross-examine witnesses, challenge the prosecution’s evidence, and present supporting evidence and testimony. Our primary objective is to establish reasonable doubt in the prosecution’s case, securing a verdict of not guilty and/or lessening the possibility of penalties imposed in Cape Girardeau County, MO.

When you are charged with a DWI in or around Cape Girardeau County, MO and hire Combs Waterkotte, you’re not just hiring the ideal DWI attorney in Cape Girardeau County, MO and throughout Missouri – you are protecting your rights, your freedom, and your future. In addition to DWI defense from our esteemed DWI attorney, our legal team offers expertise in the following areas for residents in Cape Girardeau County and beyond:

DWI Attorney Cape Girardeau County, MO | DWI Criminal Defense in Cape Girardeau County, MO | Combs Waterkotte

Reach Out to the Leading Cape Girardeau County, MO DWI Attorney Right Away | Combs Waterkotte

Facing a DWI charge in the Cape Girardeau County, MO area? Don’t leave your future to chance. Place it in the trustworthy hands of the tenacious and experienced DWI attorneys at Combs Waterkotte. Our legal team is prepared to defend you and safeguard your rights with the aggressive representation you need in Cape Girardeau County, MO.

Take the first step toward protecting your freedom, finances, and future in the Cape Girardeau County, MO area by calling a DWI attorney at Combs Waterkotte right away at (314) 900-HELP or connect with us online for a free and confidential consultation.

View Service Areas