Image

Atchison County, MO

Verified Content

Last Updated:

DWI Attorney in Atchison County, MO. Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) charges in Atchison County, MO can have serious and long-lasting, if not permanent, implications on your life, affecting your freedom, finances, and your future housing, career, and personal opportunities. If you have been arrested for DWI in Atchison County, MO or elsewhere in Missouri, you deserve the expertise of a talented Combs Waterkotte DWI attorney in your corner.

Our knowledgeable criminal defense attorneys in Atchison County, MO are devoted to offering you the strongest possible defense, making sure your rights are protected every step of the way. Depending on the specifics of your case, a skilled Combs Waterkotte DWI attorney may be able to get your charges in Atchison County, MO reduced or even dropped, negotiate a lesser punishment via a plea bargain, or contest your conviction in a trial.

Call Combs Waterkotte as soon as possible at (314) 900-HELP or contact us online to schedule a free, no-obligation consultation with one of our DWI attorneys in Atchison County, MO so that you can have a discussion about the specific circumstances of your case and get expert legal advice and guidance.

DWI Attorney in Atchison County, MO: Protect Your Future With the Combs Waterkotte Legal Team

Regardless of the situation, procuring the best legal representation throughout the Atchison County, MO area is vital. Whether you’re facing your first DWI charge or your third, have been arrested for driving while intoxicated under the influence of marijuana or some other intoxicating substance, or have been involved in an accident while driving impaired, you need the expertise of Combs Waterkotte immediately.

Hiring a determined Atchison County, MO DWI attorney can be the difference between possibly feeling like you have to plead guilty and possibly having your charges reduced or dismissed. Call a DWI attorney in Atchison County, MO right away at (314) 900-HELP or connect with us online.

DWI Attorney Atchison County, MO | Criminal Defense in Atchison County, MO | Atchison County, MO DWI Lawyers

DWI Attorney in Atchison County, MO: Understanding DWI Penalties in Missouri

DWI charges in Atchison County, MO can carry serious penalties, such as fines, license suspension, and possible jail time. You may be required, depending on the specifics of your Atchison County, MO case, to enroll in and complete a Substance Awareness Traffic Offender Program (SATOP) and file for SR-22 insurance.

The penalties for DWI in Atchison County, MO amount to:

  • First Offense: You could receive a jail term of up to 6 months, fines of up to $500, and a 30-day license suspension followed by a 60-day restricted driving period.
  • Second Offense: Classified as a “prior offender,” penalties include up to 1 year in jail, fines up to $1,000, and a license suspension ranging from 1 to 5 years.
  • Third Offense: Classified as a “persistent offender” and a Class E felony offense, penalties can include 4 years in prison, fines up to $5,000, and a 10-year license revocation.
  • Fourth Offense: In addition to a Class D felony offense, you may receive a prison sentence up to 7 years, fines up to $5,000, and license suspension.
  • Fifth Offense: This is a Class C felony, and you can expect a prison sentence of up to 15 years, as well as the suspension of your license.

DWI Attorney in Atchison County, MO: What You Should Do If Pulled Over in Atchison County, MO

Being pulled over by law enforcement in Atchison County, MO can be an harrowing experience, especially if you have been imbibing. If you are pulled over for a DWI, it is essential to handle the situation with care. The following are steps recommended by the Combs Waterkotte DWI attorneys:

  • Stay Calm and Compliant: Pull over safely to the side of the road, signaling as you do so, finding a safe, well-lit location. Keep your composure, taking deep breaths in order to stay calm throughout the interaction with law enforcement.
  • Keep Your Hands Visible and Be Polite: Place your hands on the steering wheel as the officer approaches, showing you are not a threat and cooperative. Politely greet the officer and follow their instructions, as this can positively influence the encounter.
  • Limit Your Conversation: Avoid self-incrimination. After all, you have the right to remain silent. Once law enforcement pulls you over, officers will do everything in their power to arrest you or use “strongarm” investigative techniques. You don’t have to answer questions about where you’ve been in the Atchison County, MO area, what you have been doing, or whatever it is you’ve been drinking. You can always politely decline questions by saying, “I prefer not to answer that question,” or “I’d rather not answer without legal counsel.”
  • Refuse Sobriety Tests: You are not legally required to perform field sobriety tests (FSTs) in Atchison County, MO, or anywhere else for that matter, as they are subjective and typically used only to establish probable cause to arrest you. An officer might request that you take a portable breath test, or breathalyzer. While Missouri’s implied consent law mandates a one-year license suspension for refusing a breathalyzer after a DWI arrest, this not apply to tests conducted before an arrest. These tests are unreliable and, like FSTs, are only used to establish probable cause. Don’t give it to them.
  • Contact a DWI Attorney as Soon as Possible: Seek an attorney who specializes in DWI cases, such as the expert DWI attorneys at Combs Waterkotte. Our knowledgeable lawyers can help navigate the legal system and safeguard your rights and future. Give us a call now at (314) 900-HELP or contact us online.

DWI Attorney Atchison County, MO | Leading Criminal Defense DWI Law Firm Atchison County, MO | Combs Waterkotte

DWI Attorney in Atchison County, MO: How the Esteemed Defense Strategists at Combs Waterkotte Can Help

While facing a DWI charge in Atchison County, MO is certainly daunting, with the right legal representation you can be in a far better situation than going it alone. Combs Waterkotte is devoted to providing you with exceptional DWI defense services, ensuring you receive a fair trial and the best possible outcome in Atchison County, MO. We provide:

A Atchison County, MO DWI Attorney With Extensive Experience & Expertise

With over 60 years of combined experience in criminal defense, the DWI attorney team at Combs Waterkotte has a deep understanding of the DWI laws in Atchison County, MO and throughout Missouri. We have the capability to handle the intricacies of DWI charges just like yours, and have successfully defended numerous clients in the Atchison County, MO area against these types of charges. Our record of success speaks for itself, and we are dedicated to total client satisfaction.

An Initial Consultation and Case Evaluation With a Talented Atchison County, MO DWI Attorney

We begin with a in-depth, no-strings-attached, free consultation to understand the details of your Atchison County, MO case. This allows our skilled team in Atchison County, MO to assess the evidence against you, identify any weaknesses in the prosecution’s case, and explore possible defense strategies tailored to your situation.

Personalized Defense Strategies From a Atchison County, MO DWI Attorney

Every Atchison County, MO DWI case is unique and a generic approach simply won’t suffice. The Combs Waterkotte DWI attorneys craft a personalized defense strategy based on your individual circumstances in Atchison County, MO. Our attorneys meticulously investigate every angle of your case, from the initial traffic stop to the arrest, closely examining the legality of the stop and the procedures followed by law enforcement.

A Atchison County, MO DWI Attorney Who is Skilled in Negotiating Plea Bargains

If dismissal of your case is unlikely, we work to negotiate plea bargains that can your charges and penalties. There may also be mitigating factors that could be used in your defense. We always aim for the most favorable outcome for our clients in the Atchison County, MO area.

Court Representation From a Atchison County, MO DWI Attorney With Decades of Litigation Experience

Should your Atchison County, MO DWI case go to trail, our attorneys provide vigorous representation in court, delivering compelling arguments on your behalf. We present supporting evidence and testimony, challenge the prosecution’s evidence, and cross-examine witnesses. Our priority is casting reasonable doubt on the prosecution’s case, securing a verdict of not guilty and/or lessening the possibility of penalties imposed in Atchison County, MO.

When you’re charged with a DWI in or around Atchison County, MO and hire Combs Waterkotte, you’re not just choosing the leading DWI attorney in Atchison County, MO and throughout Missouri – you are securing your rights, your freedom, and your future. Along with DWI defense from our esteemed DWI attorney, our legal team offers expertise in the following areas for residents in Atchison County and beyond:

DWI Attorney Atchison County, MO | DWI Criminal Defense in Atchison County, MO | Combs Waterkotte

Reach Out to the Leading Atchison County, MO DWI Attorney Right Away | Combs Waterkotte

Facing a DWI charge in the Atchison County, MO area? Don’t leave your future to chance. Place it in the trustworthy hands of the tenacious and experienced DWI attorneys at Combs Waterkotte. Our lawyers are ready to fight for you and your rights, and provide the aggressive defense you need in Atchison County, MO.

Take the first step in protecting your freedom, finances, and future in the Atchison County, MO area by calling a DWI attorney at Combs Waterkotte as soon as possible at (314) 900-HELP or connect with us online for a free and confidential case review.

View Service Areas