Image

Pike County, MO

Verified Content

Last Updated:

DWI Attorney in Pike County, MO. A dreaded Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) charge in Pike County, MO can have serious and long-lasting, if not permanent, implications on your life, affecting your freedom, finances, and any future housing, career, and personal opportunities. If you have been arrested for DWI in Pike County, MO or elsewhere in Missouri, you need the expertise of a seasoned Combs Waterkotte DWI attorney in your corner.

Our knowledgeable Pike County, MO criminal defense attorneys are dedicated to providing you with the best possible defense, making sure your rights are protected every step of the way. Depending on the circumstances of your case, a talented DWI attorney at Combs Waterkotte may be able to reduce or dismiss your charges in Pike County, MO, negotiate a lesser penalty through a plea bargain, or contest your conviction in court.

Call Combs Waterkotte immediately at (314) 900-HELP or contact us online for a free, no-obligation case review with one of our DWI attorneys in Pike County, MO so that you can discuss the specifics of your case and receive expert legal advice and guidance.

DWI Attorney in Pike County, MO: Safeguard Your Future With the Combs Waterkotte Lawyers

Regardless of your situation, you need the best legal representation available in Pike County, MO. Whether you’ve been charged with your first DWI or your third, have been charged with driving under the influence of marijuana or some other intoxicating substance, or have been involved in an accident while driving impaired, you need the help of Combs Waterkotte immediately.

Hiring a tenacious Pike County, MO DWI attorney can be the difference between possibly feeling like you have to plead guilty and possibly having your charges reduced or even dismissed. Call a DWI attorney in Pike County, MO right away at (314) 900-HELP or contact us online.

DWI Attorney Pike County, MO | Criminal Defense in Pike County, MO | Pike County, MO DWI Lawyers

DWI Attorney in Pike County, MO: Understanding DWI Penalties in Missouri

DWI charges in Pike County, MO can carry serious penalties, like fines, license suspension, and potential jail time. Depending on your situation in Pike County, MO, you may be required to complete a Substance Awareness Traffic Offender Program (SATOP) program, as well as being responsible for filing SR-22 insurance.

The penalties for DWI in Pike County, MO include:

  • First Offense: Penalties may include up to 6 months in jail, fines up to $500, and a 30-day license suspension followed by a 60-day restricted driving period.
  • Second Offense: Considered a “prior offender” so you face up to 1 year in jail, fines up to $1,000, and a license suspension ranging from 1 to 5 years.
  • Third Offense: Now considered a “persistent offender” and a Class E felony offense, so you could face up to 4 years in prison, fines up to $5,000, and a 10-year license revocation.
  • Fourth Offense: Along with a Class D felony offense, you may receive a prison sentence up to 7 years, fines up to $5,000, and license suspension.
  • Fifth Offense: A Class C felony, you will be facing a prison sentence of up to 15 years, as well as the suspension of your license.

DWI Attorney in Pike County, MO: Steps to Take If Pulled Over in Pike County, MO

Being pulled over by law enforcement at any time in Pike County, MO can be a frightening experience, but especially so if you’ve been imbibing. If you find yourself stopped for a DWI, it is vital to handle the situation with care. Here are the steps you should follow according to the Combs Waterkotte DWI attorneys:

  • Remain Calm and Compliant: Pull over safely to the side of the road, signaling as you do so, finding a safe, well-lit location. Keep your composure, taking deep breaths in order to stay calm throughout the interaction with law enforcement.
  • Keep Your Hands Visible and Be Polite: Place your hands on the steering wheel as the officer approaches your vehicle to demonstrate you’re not a threat and are cooperative. Politely greet the officer and follow their instructions – this goes a long way.
  • Limit Your Conversation: Avoid self-incrimination or long-winded conversations. After all, you have the right to remain silent. Once law enforcement pulls you over, officers will do everything in their power to arrest you or use “strongarm” investigative techniques. You don’t have to answer questions about where you’ve been in the Pike County, MO area, what you have been doing, or whatever it is you’ve been drinking. You can politely decline questions by saying, “I prefer not to answer that question,” or “I would rather not answer without legal advice.”
  • Refuse Sobriety Tests: You are not legally required to perform field sobriety tests (FSTs) in Pike County, MO, or anywhere else. These tests are subjective and often only used to establish probable cause for your arrest. An officer may ask you to take a portable breath test, or breathalyzer. While Missouri’s implied consent law mandates a one-year license suspension for refusing a breathalyzer after a DWI arrest, this not apply to tests conducted before an arrest. These tests are unreliable and, like FSTs, are only used to establish probable cause. Don’t give it to them.
  • Contact a DWI Attorney Immediately: It is crucial to consult with an attorney who specializes in DWI cases, like the expert DWI attorneys at Combs Waterkotte. Our experienced legal team can help navigate the legal system and protect your rights and future. Give us a call now at (314) 900-HELP or connect with us online.

DWI Attorney Pike County, MO | Leading Criminal Defense DWI Law Firm Pike County, MO | Combs Waterkotte

DWI Attorney in Pike County, MO: How Combs Waterkotte Can Help With Your Defense

While facing a DWI charge in Pike County, MO is certainly daunting, with the ideal legal representation you can be in a far better situation than going it alone. Combs Waterkotte is committed to offering exceptional DWI defense services, ensuring you receive a fair trial in Pike County, MO and the best possible outcome. Our firm offers:

Extensive Experience & Expertise From Our Pike County, MO DWI Attorney

The DWI attorney team at Combs Waterkotte has a comprehensive understanding of the DWI laws in Pike County, MO and throughout Missouri, with more than 60 years of combined experience in criminal defense. We have the capability to handle the intricacies of DWI charges just like yours, and have successfully defended numerous clients in the Pike County, MO area against these accusations. We are committed to complete client satisfaction, and our record of success speaks for itself.

Comprehensive Initial Consultation and Case Evaluation With a Skilled Pike County, MO DWI Attorney

We begin with a detailed, no-obligation, free consultation to understand the specifics of your Pike County, MO case. This allows our proficient team in Pike County, MO to evaluate the evidence against you and identify possible weaknesses or holes in the prosecution’s case, as well as likely avenues for defense strategies.

A Pike County, MO DWI Attorney Who Challenges the Evidence

Every Pike County, MO DWI case is unique and a one-size-fits-all approach simply won’t suffice. The Combs Waterkotte DWI attorneys develop a customized defense strategy based on your specific circumstances in Pike County, MO. Our attorneys investigate every aspect of your case, from the initial traffic stop to the actual arrest. We scrutinize the legality of the stop and the procedures followed by law enforcement.

Skilled Plea Bargain Negotiations From Our Pike County, MO DWI Attorney

If dismissal of your case is unlikely, we work to negotiate plea bargains that can your charges and penalties. There may also be mitigating circumstances that could be used in your defense. We always aim for the most favorable outcome for our clients in and around Pike County, MO.

Expert Court Representation From a Pike County, MO DWI Attorney With Decades of Litigation Experience

Should your Pike County, MO DWI case go to trail, our attorneys provide vigorous representation in court, presenting compelling arguments on your behalf. We present supporting evidence and testimony, challenge the prosecution’s evidence, and cross-examine witnesses. Our priority is casting reasonable doubt on the prosecution’s case, aiming to secure a not guilty verdict and/or reduce any potential penalties in Pike County, MO.

When you are charged with a DWI in or around Pike County, MO and hire Combs Waterkotte, you’re not just hiring the ideal DWI attorney in Pike County, MO and throughout Missouri – you’re securing your rights, your freedom, and your future. In addition to DWI defense from our esteemed DWI attorney, our legal team offers expertise in the following areas for Pike County, MO residents:

DWI Attorney Pike County, MO | DWI Criminal Defense in Pike County, MO | Combs Waterkotte

Contact the Ideal Pike County, MO DWI Attorney Today | Combs Waterkotte

Facing a DWI charge in the Pike County, MO area? Do not leave your future to chance. Place it in the trustworthy hands of the tenacious and experienced DWI attorneys at Combs Waterkotte. Our legal team is prepared to defend you and safeguard your rights with the aggressive representation you need in Pike County, MO.

Take the first step toward protecting your freedom, your finances, and your future in the Pike County, MO area by reaching out to a DWI attorney at Combs Waterkotte as soon as possible at (314) 900-HELP or contact us online for a free and confidential consultation.

View Service Areas