Image

Stone County, MO

Verified Content

Last Updated:

DWI Attorney in Stone County, MO. A dreaded Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) charge in Stone County, MO can have major and enduring, if not permanent, consequences on your life, affecting your freedom, finances, and any future housing, career, and personal opportunities. If you have been arrested for DWI in Stone County, MO or elsewhere in Missouri, you need the expertise of a talented Combs Waterkotte DWI attorney in your corner.

Our experienced criminal defense attorneys in Stone County, MO are committed to offering you the strongest possible defense, safeguarding your rights every step of the way. Depending on the circumstances of your case, a talented Combs Waterkotte DWI attorney may be able to reduce or dismiss your charges in Stone County, MO, arrange a lesser penalty via a plea bargain, or fight your conviction in a trial.

Call Combs Waterkotte as soon as possible at (314) 900-HELP or reach out to us online to schedule a free, no-obligation case review with one of our DWI attorneys in Stone County, MO so that you can speak about the specifics of your case and receive expert legal advice and guidance.

DWI Attorney in Stone County, MO: Safeguard Your Future With the Combs Waterkotte Legal Team

No matter the situation, you need the best legal representation available in Stone County, MO. Whether you’re facing your first DWI charge or your third, have been charged with driving while intoxicated under the influence of marijuana or another intoxicating substance, or have been involved in an accident while driving impaired, you need the expertise of Combs Waterkotte immediately.

Hiring a tenacious Stone County, MO DWI attorney can be the difference between possibly feeling like you have to plead guilty and possibly having your charges reduced or even dismissed. Contact a Stone County, MO DWI attorney without delay at (314) 900-HELP or connect with us online.

DWI Attorney Stone County, MO | Criminal Defense in Stone County, MO | Stone County, MO DWI Lawyers

DWI Attorney in Stone County, MO: Understanding DWI Penalties in Missouri

DWI charges in Stone County, MO can carry serious penalties, including fines, license suspension, and possible jail time. You may be required, depending on the specifics of your Stone County, MO case, to enroll in and complete a Substance Awareness Traffic Offender Program (SATOP) program and be responsible for filing SR-22 insurance.

Penalties for DWI in Stone County, MO amount to:

  • First Offense: Penalties may include up to 6 months in jail, fines up to $500, and a 30-day license suspension followed by a 60-day restricted driving period.
  • Second Offense: Classified as a “prior offender,” penalties include up to 1 year in jail, fines up to $1,000, and a license suspension ranging from 1 to 5 years.
  • Third Offense: Classified as a “persistent offender” and a Class E felony offense, penalties can include 4 years in prison, fines up to $5,000, and a 10-year license revocation.
  • Fourth Offense: In addition to a Class D felony offense, you may receive a prison sentence up to 7 years, fines up to $5,000, and license suspension.
  • Fifth Offense: This is a Class C felony, and you can expect a prison sentence of up to 15 years, as well as the suspension of your license.

DWI Attorney in Stone County, MO: What You Should Do If Pulled Over in the Stone County, MO Area

Being stopped by law enforcement at any time in Stone County, MO can be a frightening experience, but especially so if you’ve been partaking in alcoholic drinks. If you find yourself stopped for a DWI, it is vital to handle the situation carefully. Here are the steps recommended by the Combs Waterkotte DWI attorneys:

  • Stay Calm and Compliant: Pull over safely to the side of the road, signaling as you do so, finding a safe, well-lit spot. Keep your composure, taking deep breaths in order to stay calm throughout the interaction with law enforcement.
  • Keep Your Hands Visible and Be Polite: Place your hands on the steering wheel as the officer approaches your vehicle to demonstrate you are not a threat and are cooperative. Politely greet the police office and follow their instructions – this goes a long way.
  • Limit Your Conversation: Avoid self-incrimination or long-winded conversations. After all, you have the right to remain silent. Once law enforcement has you pulled over, officers will do everything in their power to arrest you or use “strongarm” investigative techniques. You don’t have to answer questions about where you’ve been in the Stone County, MO area, what you have been doing, or whatever it is you’ve been drinking. You can always politely decline to answer by saying, “I prefer not to answer that question,” or “I’d rather not answer without legal advice.”
  • Refuse Sobriety Tests: You are not legally required to perform field sobriety tests (FSTs) in Stone County, MO, or anywhere else for that matter, as they are subjective and typically used only to establish probable cause to arrest you. An officer may ask you to take a portable breath test, or breathalyzer. While the state of Missouri has an implied consent law that suspends your license for 1 year if you refuse a breathalyzer – called chemical revocation – this is only applicable after a DWI arrest, not before. These tests are unreliable and, like FSTs, are used primarily to establish probable cause. Don’t give it to them.
  • Contact a DWI Attorney Immediately: Seek an attorney who specializes in DWI cases, such as the expert DWI attorneys at Combs Waterkotte. Our knowledgeable lawyers can help navigate the legal system and safeguard your rights and future. Give us a call today at (314) 900-HELP or contact us online.

DWI Attorney Stone County, MO | Leading Criminal Defense DWI Law Firm Stone County, MO | Combs Waterkotte

DWI Attorney in Stone County, MO: How the Esteemed Defense Strategists at Combs Waterkotte Can Help

Facing a DWI charge in Stone County, MO can be overwhelming, but with the right legal representation, your situation can improve significantly. Combs Waterkotte is devoted to offering exceptional DWI defense services, ensuring you get a fair trial in Stone County, MO and the best possible outcome. Our firm provides:

Extensive Experience & Expertise From Our Stone County, MO DWI Attorney

With more than 60 years of combined experience in criminal defense, the DWI attorney team at Combs Waterkotte has a deep understanding of the DWI laws in Stone County, MO and throughout Missouri. We are adept at managing the complexities of DWI charges just like yours, and have had numerous successful results defending Stone County, MO clients against these accusations. We are committed to complete client satisfaction, and our record of success speaks for itself.

An Initial Consultation and Case Evaluation With a Skilled Stone County, MO DWI Attorney

We start with a detailed, no-obligation, free case review to understand the specifics of your Stone County, MO case. This allows our proficient team in Stone County, MO to evaluate the evidence against you, identify any weaknesses in the prosecution’s case, and explore possible defense strategies tailored to your circumstances.

A Stone County, MO DWI Attorney Who Challenges the Evidence

Each Stone County, MO DWI case is unique and a generic approach simply won’t suffice. The Combs Waterkotte DWI attorneys develop a customized defense strategy based on your specific circumstances in Stone County, MO. Our attorneys meticulously investigate every angle of your case, from the initial traffic stop to the arrest, closely examining the legality of the stop and the procedures followed by law enforcement.

Skilled Plea Bargain Negotiations From Our Stone County, MO DWI Attorney

If dismissal of your case is unlikely, we work to negotiate plea bargains that can your charges and penalties. There may also be mitigating circumstances that could be used to your advantage. We always aim for the most favorable outcome for our clients in and around Stone County, MO.

Court Representation From a Stone County, MO DWI Attorney With Decades of Litigation Experience

Should your Stone County, MO DWI case go to trail, our attorneys provide robust representation in court, delivering a compelling defense strategy on your behalf. We present supporting evidence and testimony, challenge the prosecution’s evidence, and cross-examine witnesses. Our primary objective is to establish reasonable doubt in the prosecution’s case, securing a verdict of not guilty and/or lessening the possibility of penalties imposed in Stone County, MO.

When you are charged with a DWI in or around Stone County, MO and choose Combs Waterkotte, you’re not just choosing the leading DWI attorney in Stone County, MO and throughout Missouri – you’re securing your rights, your freedom, and your future. In addition to DWI defense from our esteemed DWI attorney, our legal team provides expertise in the following areas for Stone County, MO residents:

DWI Attorney Stone County, MO | DWI Criminal Defense in Stone County, MO | Combs Waterkotte

Reach Out to the Leading Stone County, MO DWI Attorney Right Away | Combs Waterkotte

If you are facing a DWI charge in Stone County, MO, don’t leave your future to chance. Place it in the trustworthy hands of the tenacious and experienced DWI attorneys at Combs Waterkotte. Our legal team is prepared to defend you and safeguard your rights with the aggressive representation you need in Stone County, MO.

Take the crucial first step in protecting your freedom, finances, and future in the Stone County, MO area by calling a DWI attorney at Combs Waterkotte right away at (314) 900-HELP or connect with us online for a free and confidential case review.

View Service Areas