Image

Platte County, MO

Verified Content

Last Updated:

DWI Attorney in Platte County, MO. A dreaded Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) charge in Platte County, MO can have serious and long-lasting, if not permanent, implications on your life, including your freedom, finances, and any future housing, career, and personal opportunities. If you have been arrested for DWI in Platte County, MO or elsewhere in Missouri, you should have the expertise of a seasoned Combs Waterkotte DWI attorney by your side.

Our knowledgeable Platte County, MO criminal defense attorneys are devoted to offering you the best possible defense, safeguarding your rights every step of the way. Depending on the circumstances of your case, a talented Combs Waterkotte DWI attorney may be able to get your charges in Platte County, MO reduced or even dropped, negotiate a lesser penalty through a plea bargain, or contest your conviction in a trial.

Give Combs Waterkotte a call right now at (314) 900-HELP or reach out to us online for a free, no-obligation case review with one of our DWI attorneys in Platte County, MO where you can speak about the specifics of your case and get confidential legal advice and guidance.

DWI Attorney in Platte County, MO: Safeguard Your Future With the Combs Waterkotte Lawyers

Whatever the scenario, securing top-tier legal representation in Platte County, MO is crucial. Whether you’ve been charged with your first DWI or your third, have been arrested for driving under the influence of marijuana or some other intoxicating substance, or have been involved in an accident while driving impaired, you need expert assistance from Combs Waterkotte right away.

Hiring a determined Platte County, MO DWI attorney can be the difference between possibly feeling like you have to plead guilty and possibly having your charges reduced or even dismissed. Contact a Platte County, MO DWI attorney without delay at (314) 900-HELP or reach out to us online.

DWI Attorney Platte County, MO | Criminal Defense in Platte County, MO | Platte County, MO DWI Lawyers

DWI Attorney in Platte County, MO: Understanding DWI Penalties in Missouri

Platte County, MO DWI charges can result in severe consequences, like fines, license suspension, and potential jail time. Depending on your situation in Platte County, MO, you may be required to complete a Substance Awareness Traffic Offender Program (SATOP) program and be responsible for filing SR-22 insurance.

Penalties for DWI in Platte County, MO amount to:

  • First Offense: Penalties may include up to 6 months in jail, fines up to $500, and a 30-day license suspension followed by a 60-day restricted driving period.
  • Second Offense: Classified as a “prior offender,” penalties include up to 1 year in jail, fines up to $1,000, and a license suspension ranging from 1 to 5 years.
  • Third Offense: Classified as a “persistent offender” and a Class E felony offense, so you could face up to 4 years in prison, fines up to $5,000, and a 10-year license revocation.
  • Fourth Offense: In addition to a Class D felony offense, you may receive a prison sentence up to 7 years, fines up to $5,000, and license suspension.
  • Fifth Offense: A Class C felony, you will be facing a prison sentence of up to 15 years, along with the suspension of your license.

DWI Attorney in Platte County, MO: What You Should Do If Pulled Over in Platte County, MO

Being pulled over by law enforcement at any time in Platte County, MO can be a frightening experience, but particularly so if you’ve been partaking in alcoholic drinks. If you find yourself stopped for a DWI, it is crucial to handle the situation with care. The following are steps you should follow according to the Combs Waterkotte DWI attorneys:

  • Stay Calm and Compliant: Pull over safely to the side of the road, signaling as you do so, finding a safe, well-lit location. Keep your composure by taking deep breaths to remain calm throughout the interaction with the officer.
  • Keep Your Hands Visible and Be Polite: Place your hands on the steering wheel as the officer approaches, showing you are not a threat and cooperative. Politely greet the officer and follow their instructions, as this can positively influence the encounter.
  • Limit Your Conversation: Avoid self-incrimination. You have the right to remain silent. Once law enforcement pulls you over, officers will do everything in their power to arrest you or use “strongarm” investigative techniques. You don’t have to answer questions about where you’ve been in the Platte County, MO area, what you have been doing, or whatever it is you’ve been drinking. You can politely decline questions by saying, “I prefer not to answer that question,” or “I’d rather not answer without legal counsel.”
  • Refuse Sobriety Tests: You are not legally required to perform field sobriety tests (FSTs) in Platte County, MO, or anywhere else. These tests are subjective and often only used to establish probable cause for your arrest. An officer may ask you to take a portable breath test, or breathalyzer. While the state of Missouri has an implied consent law that suspends your license for 1 year if you refuse a breathalyzer – called chemical revocation – this is only applicable after a DWI arrest, not before. These portable tests are unreliable and, like FSTs, are only used to establish probable cause. Don’t give it to them.
  • Contact a DWI Attorney Immediately: It is critical to seek the advice of an attorney who specializes in DWI cases, such as the skilled DWI attorneys at Combs Waterkotte. Our experienced legal team can help navigate the legal system and protect your rights and future. Give us a call right away at (314) 900-HELP or reach out to us online.

DWI Attorney Platte County, MO | Leading Criminal Defense DWI Law Firm Platte County, MO | Combs Waterkotte

DWI Attorney in Platte County, MO: How the Esteemed Defense Strategists at Combs Waterkotte Can Help

While facing a DWI charge in Platte County, MO is certainly daunting, with the ideal legal representation you can be in a far better scenario than going solo. Combs Waterkotte is devoted to providing you with exceptional DWI defense services, ensuring you receive a fair trial and the best possible outcome in Platte County, MO. Our firm offers:

A Platte County, MO DWI Attorney With Extensive Experience & Expertise

With over 60 years of combined experience in criminal defense, the DWI attorney team at Combs Waterkotte has a deep understanding of the DWI laws in Platte County, MO and throughout Missouri. We are adept at managing the complexities of DWI charges just like yours, and have had numerous successful results defending Platte County, MO clients against these accusations. We are committed to complete client satisfaction, and our record of success speaks for itself.

An Initial Consultation and Case Evaluation With a Talented Platte County, MO DWI Attorney

We begin with a thorough, confidential, free case review to understand the details of your case. This allows our skilled team in Platte County, MO to assess the evidence against you and identify possible weaknesses or holes in the case, along with likely avenues for defense strategies.

Personalized Defense Strategies From a Platte County, MO DWI Attorney

Each Platte County, MO DWI case is unique and a one-size-fits-all approach simply won’t suffice. The Combs Waterkotte DWI attorneys develop a personalized defense strategy based on your individual circumstances in Platte County, MO. Our attorneys investigate every aspect of your case, from the initial traffic stop to the arrest, closely examining the legality of the stop and the procedures followed by law enforcement.

A Platte County, MO DWI Attorney Who is Skilled in Negotiating Plea Bargains

If dismissal of your case is unlikely, we work to negotiate plea bargains that can your charges and penalties. There might be mitigating factors that could be used to your advantage. Our goal is to achieve the most favorable outcome for our Platte County, MO-area clients.

Court Representation From a Platte County, MO DWI Attorney With Decades of Litigation Experience

Should your Platte County, MO DWI case go to trail, our attorneys provide vigorous representation in court, presenting a compelling defense strategy on your behalf. We present supporting evidence and testimony, challenge the prosecution’s evidence, and cross-examine witnesses. Our primary objective is to establish reasonable doubt in the prosecution’s case, securing a verdict of not guilty and/or lessening the possibility of penalties imposed in Platte County, MO.

When you are facing a DWI charge in or around Platte County, MO and choose Combs Waterkotte, you’re not just hiring the ideal DWI attorney in Platte County, MO and throughout Missouri – you’re securing your rights, your freedom, and your future. In addition to DWI defense from our esteemed DWI attorney, our legal team provides expertise in the following areas for Platte County, MO residents:

DWI Attorney Platte County, MO | DWI Criminal Defense in Platte County, MO | Combs Waterkotte

Reach Out to the Leading Platte County, MO DWI Attorney Today | Combs Waterkotte

If you’re facing a DWI charge in Platte County, MO, don’t leave your future to chance. Trust the experienced and determined DWI attorneys at Combs Waterkotte. Our legal team is prepared to defend you and uphold your rights with the aggressive representation you need in Platte County, MO.

Take the crucial first step in protecting your freedom, finances, and future in the Platte County, MO area by reaching out to a DWI attorney at Combs Waterkotte as soon as possible at (314) 900-HELP or connect with us online for a free and confidential consultation.

View Service Areas