Is Your License Suspended Immediately After a DUI?

If you’ve been charged with a DUI, you will be facing a driver’s license suspension, fines, and possible jail time. A DWI in St. Louis or elsewhere in Missouri can result in unimaginable costs – but you could avoid them, with the expert help provided by an effective St. Louis DWI/DUI attorney.

Christopher Combs and Steve Waterkotte of Combs Waterkotte answer “Is your license suspended immediately after a DUI?”

Video Transcript

Scott Michael Dunn: How do I get back on the road, and am I ever going to get back on the road? It’s a big question.

Christopher Combs: It’s funny, our wives have to hear us on the phone talking to prospective clients all the time. So this is the infamous, “A DWI is two cases in one.” You’ve got the license side and then you’ve got your criminal charge of driving while intoxicated.

Your case will diverge to one road or the other, depending on whether or not they collected blood, breath, or urine. If they collect blood, breath, or urine, then you’re challenging that and you’re looking at, typically for a first offense, 30 days hard and 90 days soft suspension. If you refuse, on a first offense typically we’re able to save a license from ever being suspended.

If you need Missouri’s leading criminal defense team to defend your rights and freedom, speak to a criminal defense attorney today at (314) 900-HELP or contact us online for a free case review.