Did You Get a DWI on Super Bowl Sunday?

For football fans, the most important night of the year just passed – and it was especially important for us here in St. Louis, Missouri, as the Kansas City Chiefs beat the San Francisco 49ers 31 to 20, 50 years after their last Super Bowl win. 

Understandably, people all over the state were doing some serious celebrating on Sunday, and that always means some unlucky people get a DWI due to the increased police activity. Whether you’re driving your friends back from the bar or nipping down the street home after watching the game at a friend’s house, it’s easy to have had just a little too much and get caught over the limit. In the US, Super Bowl Sunday is the biggest drinking day second only to New Year’s Eve. 

All over the country, local and state police increase patrols to catch drunk drivers and ensure no celebratory behavior gets out of hand. Many states have weekend-long initiatives designed to keep drunk drivers off the roads, which means that it’s easier than ever to get caught. 

If you were one of the unfortunate, Combs Waterkotte is here to help. Call us now at (314) 900-HELP or contact us online. Read on to learn everything you need to know if you got a DWI/DUI after the Super Bowl. 

DWI Charges More Than Double 

Safety officials say that the rate of DWI crashes alone increase by over 70% on Super Bowl weekend compared to normal weekends, many of which prove fatal, and data from Alcohol Monitoring Systems show that those who have offended before are 22% more likely to get another DWI. These systems monitor over 530,000 repeat DWI offenders every half an hour for alcohol consumption, who knew they were being monitored and that drinking would result in negative consequences. 

What Kind of Charges Can I Face as a Result of My DWI?

In Missouri, If your blood alcohol concentration percentage (BAC) is over 0.08% when tested, you will be charged with a DWI. There’s no arguing with this percentage with the testing officer and you do not need to look or feel drunk. If your BAC is found to be 0.15% or over you may even receive a worse penalty. 

If you are not yet of legal drinking age, you will be charged with a DWI if your BAC is over 0.02%. 

Most DWIs will result in a misdemeanor, even if your BAC is over 0.15%, provided you haven’t harmed anyone or had a previous DWI charge. If it is your first offense, you can face up to 6 months jail time, you will have your license suspended for 30-60 days, and you will face a fine of up to $1,000. If it’s your second offense you can face 12 months in jail, you may have your license revoked for up to 5 years, and you will face a fine of up to $2,000. 

If your BAC is over 0.15% and you cause injury to others by getting behind the wheel, or if you have offended repeatedly, you may face a felony charge. If this is your third offense or more, you will face a class D felony charge. This is a serious charge, with a maximum penalty of 4 years in jail, your license revoked for up to 10 years, and a fine of up to $10,000. 

What Can I Do to Fight My DWI?

Even a first offense DWI can cause serious ripples into your life, especially if you are forced to serve jail time or have your license revoked. A simple DWI can cost you your freedom, your career, and even your family, if it’s a second offense or if you hurt someone else in the process. It’s important you speak to a St. Louis DWI attorney as soon as possible to look into the circumstances of your DWI and advise you on what to do moving forward. 

How Long Will My DWI Stay on My Record? 

In Missouri, a DWI will stay on your record for 10 years for a first offense – meaning even just one small lapse in judgment can follow you for a decade of your life. If this is your second offense it gets significantly worse, and will stay on your record forever. That’s why you should speak to a St. Louis DWI Lawyer who can help you minimize charges or even get them dismissed, to avoid this at all costs. 

You should also note that your DWI will not automatically be removed from your record after 10 years, and you have to petition the court to have it removed. 

Do I Have to Go to DWI School?

If your license is revoked for any length of time you have to attend a Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program and pay for the mandatory alcohol treatment evaluation before your license is reinstated. As a first offender, if your BAC was particularly high, they may decide that you must attend a weekend intervention program too, before returning your driving rights. 

Why Hire a St. Louis DWI Attorney for a Super Bowl DWI?

If you were one of the unfortunate people who got caught after the Super Bowl, it’s important you talk to an experienced DWI lawyer as soon as possible to minimize the impact the charge can have on your life. Don’t wait until after your court date – do it now. 

Whether this DWI is your first or your third, it will have serious implications on your life, and so if you were caught in the St. Louis Metro area, we’re here to help you. We’re highly experienced in fighting DWI charges and we will aggressively fight to have your charges minimized or even dismissed. We offer free consultations and 24/7 access to your lawyer so you’ll feel supported throughout the length of your case. 

Many of our past DWI clients have seen success with us and you can read just a few of our successful cases here and the reviews of our happy customer’s here.